Pdoc’s Appointment

Today was a BRAVE day for me..

Went for a session of family counseling today.  Really, I prayed a simple prayer before I go… Because this was really the first time I allowed a counselor to understand and try to intervene my family stuff.

We just chat, me, mum, dad.  I wouldn’t say it’s entirely pleasant session, I still felt I was reluctant to participate.  Was okay overall and progress to make progress is in progress.

After that, I was just ‘jumping’ between decisions whether or not to see the Pdoc I’ve arranged appointment with. I’d just call him Dr / Pdoc (slang for psychiatrist) here. Finally I made my decision to just go anyway.  Consultation fee was supposedly RM 180, but today Pdoc didn’t have much time left for me as he’s rushing to another clinic and I was his last patient.  Well, so the session was FREE of charge but I still got to talk to him about my problems for about 20 minutes.  🙂

Going to another Pdoc after the horrible terrible previous one was indeed something that I mustered a lot of courage to try.

Didn’t get an actual diagnosis today about what was it that I am facing as Dr did not get enough information to do so.  I did, however get a prescription for 4 tablets of Xanax (Alprazolam), a medication of class Benzodiazepine at 0.25mg dosage to be taken as needed before I see him again.  Seeing him again next week.

I thought at this point, it would be great to give out some information about the medication Xanax (Alprazolam).  This information on the drug is based on a web application and should not be taken as medical advice or as a substitute for judgment and expertise of health care professionals.

Brand Name: Xanax

Generic Name: Alprazolam

Class: Benzodiazepine

Indications: Generalised Anxiety Disorder (GAD), panic disorder

Dosage: 0.25 mg, 0.5 mg, 1 mg, 2 mg

Half Life: 12-15 hours

Side effects: drowsiness, dizziness, headache, nausea, weakness, sexual problems, liver problems, confusion. 

Overall, today was great!  Look forward to a better day tomorrow.

Got something to say? Leave a comment below.

